So, You Want HPC and Virtualization? Let’s Talk about It!

page_header_divider_line

By Bright Staff | November 10, 2020 | HPC, Virtualization

   

 

We’d like to draw your attention to an article published today on The Next Platform. In the article, the author, David Gordon, explores the topic of HPC and virtualization, with an eye on an upcoming webinar that is due to take place next week on this very topic: 

  • What: Cluster Management and Virtualization
  • When: November 16, 9 AM PST / 12 PM EST / 5 PM GMT 
  • Where: www.brightcomputing.com/sc20
  • Who: The Next Platform’s Timothy Prickett Morgan will be sitting down with a panel of HPC experts including:

     - Martijn De Vries, founder and CTO of Bright Computing
     - Jay Boisseau, Dell’s AI and HPC technology strategist, former associate director of the San Diego Supercomputing Center and erstwhile director of the Texas Advanced Computing Center
     - James Lowey, chief information officer of TGen, a non-profit genomics research institution
     - Josh Simons, VMware’s chief technologist for HPC


The subject of the webinar is an interesting one: Cluster Management and Virtualization. Essentially, two worlds colliding. On the one hand, there is the traditional world of HPC that continues to push innovation; largely on-premises. On the other hand, there is enterprise computing that has been embracing the value of virtualization for years. 

It’s set to be an interesting panel discussion with the team talking about the development of virtualization on HPC platforms, and the role of this in real world applications. We will also discuss how virtualization is transforming the way HPC clusters are used for traditional workloads, as well as for machine learning and analytics.

We encourage you to read the article on the Next Platform, then visit our SC microsite on Monday November 16, to join us for the panel discussion. 

resource_asset_divider_image

COMMENTS